Skip to main content

Past University Presidents

In the past seven decades, Oklahoma Christian University has transformed from a two-year college with 207 students in Bartlesville, Okla., to a comprehensive, four-year, accredited university with more than 2,500 students and eight graduate programs in Oklahoma City.

Overall, OC is now home to five colleges (Liberal Arts, Biblical Studies, Engineering and Computer Science, Natural and Health Sciences and Business), 21 academic departments, 71 majors plus 52 additional study areas, and more than ten study-abroad and off-campus learning options.

While the name, location and curriculum have changed significantly, the motivation and ideals have remained intact along with strong leadership.

James O. Baird was president of the university during the move from Bartlesville, and was instrumental in the university’s success in Oklahoma City.

As OC’s longest-tenured president, J. Terry Johnson helped spearhead comprehensive growth that established the university as a major institution with far-reaching impact in the Oklahoma City community and beyond.

President Emeritus Mike O’Neal continued that legacy over his decade of service as Oklahoma Christian transformed lives for Christian faith, scholarship and service.

To see the progress OC has made under the leadership of its first seven presidents is amazing. One can only imagine the great strides the university will continue to make under our eighth president, Dr. Ken Jones.