Skip to main content

Title IX

Title IX (Title 9), Education Amendments of 1972

No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.

Title IX was passed by the U.S. Congress on June 23, 1972, and signed by President Richard M. Nixon on July 1, 1972. It is a civil rights law prohibiting discrimination in education programs and activities receiving federal funds. It was the first comprehensive federal law to prohibit sex discrimination against students and employees in these institutions.

Immediate Assistance

Title IX Coordinator

Ms. Tamie Willis
405.425.NINE (6463)

Garvey Center, Room 121

Duties of Title IX Coordinator

Oklahoma Christian University's Title IX Coordinator will be informed of all reports of sexual misconduct, and will oversee the University’s review, investigation, and resolution of those reports to ensure the University’s compliance with Title IX, and other related laws, and the effective implementation of this policy. The Title IX Coordinator will have adequate training on what constitutes sexual harassment, including sexual violence.

For more information, see OC's Sexual Harassment Policy

Title IX Training Resources

Educational institutions are required to make materials used to train Title IX Coordinators, investigators, decision-makers, and any person who facilitates an informal resolution process publicly available on its website.

Review OC's Title IX Training Resources

Individuals who have experienced or are experiencing sexual harassment have the right to file a formal grievance with the:

Title IX Coordinator
Ms. Tamie Willis
405.425.NINE (6463)

Student Online Complaint Form:

Office for Civil Rights (OCR)
U.S Department of Education
One Petticoat Lane
1010 Walnut Street, Suite 320
Kansas City, MO 64106

Phone: (816) 268-0559
Fax: (816) 268-0559

Confidential Employees

University Counseling Center

Sheldon Adkins

Brenda Gunter

Molly Burke

All other counselors or interns

Spiritual Life

Mr. Scott Young
Dean of Spiritual Life