Skip to main content

Jazz Studies and Music Technology

Jazz Ensemble

The Oklahoma Christian University Jazz Ensemble is primarily an instrumental ensemble composed of five saxophones, four to five trombones, four to five trumpets, and a rhythm section. On occasion, the group includes a vocalist. This ensemble performs selected literature from the jazz band repertoire. Limited amounts of jazz history, jazz improvisation and jazz pedagogy are included in this course. Members of the OC Jazz Combo are selected from this group. This ensemble has performed for several Cruise Ships, Jazz Festivals and Recruiting Tours. Participation is by audition. Dr. Heath Jones, Professor of Music and Chair of the Department of Music is the director of the OC Jazz Ensemble.

Dr. Jones, Professor of Music and Chair of the Department of Music, joined the OC faculty in 2000. He teaches applied saxophone, music education, music technology, world music and jazz improvisation, and directs the Jazz Ensemble and Sweat Band. He is an active professional performer in the Oklahoma City area and is a past president of the Oklahoma Chapter of the International Association for Jazz Education. Professional performance experience includes the Oklahoma City Philharmonic, The Temptations, The Four Tops, Frankie Avalon, Jim Nabors, Leslie Gore, plus numerous others. Dr. Jones is a Cannonball Saxophone Artist, and his webpage can be found at