Tennis Teams Earn National Honors

Three OC tennis players won national awards at the 2011 Intercollegiate Tennis Association awards banquet. 

Artsem Burmistrau was named the ITA Assistant Coach of the Year for his efforts with the fourth-ranked Eagles, helping head coach Kris Miller (94) lead them to a 23-2 record.

OC sophomore Martin Poboril was named the ITA Player to Watch on the men’s side while Hermon Brhane was named the ITA Rookie Player of the Year in women’s play. Brhane helped the Lady Eagles to an 18-3 record and a No. 5 final ranking.

The Eagles picked up six NAIA All-America awards, with Poboril, Thomas Van Cauter, and Bruno Tiberti receiving first-team honors. Renardy Guelfi was named to the All-America second team while Esteban Flores and Pier Pieracianni earned honorable mention.

The six All-America awards are the most received in a season for the OC men’s tennis program since its inception. Flores became a four-time NAIA All-American while Van Cauter earned his third All-America award.

For the Lady Eagles, Brhane and Lucie Sipkova earned first-team All-America honors while Andreea Constantinescu was named to the second team.


Fall 2011

View more stories from the Fall 2011 issue of Vision magazine.