OC Golf Claims Third National Championship

The OC men’s golf team claimed the program’s third national title in dominating fashion, taking the National Christian College Athletic Association Championship by a whopping 52 shots over runner-up Union (Tenn.).

All five OC golfers – Vilhelm Bogstrand (13), Alasdair Dalgliesh, Sam Johnston, Logan Herbst and Jared Consoli – finished in the top 10 and earned All-America honors, with Bogstrand winning the individual title.

The Eagles’ three-round team total of 26-under-par 838 (on a course that hosts the second round of the PGA Tour’s Qualifying School) set an NCCAA Championship record and smashed the program record for margin of victory.

“You don’t win a national championship by 52 shots,” said OC head coach David Lynn (95), who was named the NCCAA Coach of the Year. “I’m just so proud of the guys. It’s such an awesome

With four runners finishing in the top 10 – and seven in the top 30 – OC held off Malone (Ohio) to win the NCCAA Championship meet in November.

In doing so, the Eagles won the program’s second national title in as many years. In 2011, OC put on a dominating performance to win the NAIA Championship race in Vancouver, Wash.

With the university having started the NCAA Division II membership process, the Eagles couldn’t defend their NAIA crown, but they left little doubt that they remain a small-college cross country power.

“The men ran a great team race,” said OC coach Wade Miller (06), who was named as the NCCAA Coach of the Year. “I’m so proud of the heart that everyone showed. We knew that Malone was a very strong team with a great tradition and in order to

feeling to come to a championship, have a game plan and have the kids buy into that game plan, have them do the right thing and get rewarded for it.

The Eagles’ previous titles came in 2009 and 2011 in the NAIA. Several other former NAIA programs that also are moving into NCAA Division II were in the tournament field.

Bogstrand became the second OC golfer to earn national medalist honors after Oscar Stark (11) led OC to the 2011 NAIA title, with teammate Axel Ochoa (11) as the runnerup. This year, OC’s Dalgliesh and Johnston tied for second. 

Spring 2013

View more stories from the Spring 2013 issue of Vision magazine.