Four OC alumni elected to state legislature

Mike Osburn, Mike Sanders, Tess Teague, and Dr. George Young were elected to the Oklahoma legislature in November.

Teague (12) served as the Legislative Report Manager for the Journal Record’s Legislative Reporting Service at the Oklahoma Capitol, overseeing coverage of the entire legislative process. She has also worked for Gov. Mary Fallin and for the Republican National Committee in Washington, D.C.

Mike Osburn (90) is the new state representative in OC’s district, House District 81. He served as Gov. Frank Keating’s campaign manager and deputy chief of staff. He also served as state director for U.S. Senator Don Nickles. He now runs his own consulting firm in public affairs and event management.

Sanders (97) worked on George W. Bush’s presidential campaign and has served in the Oklahoma State House since his election in 2008. His 2012 election set a state record when he received 95 percent of the vote from his district.

Dr. Young (MA Ministry 98, MBA 06) retired in 2013 after serving as a pastor for 30 years. He is chief executive officer of Young Management Consulting, a mediation and nonprofit management and leadership development firm.

Spring 2017

View more stories from the Spring 2017 issue of Vision magazine.