Alum Win Writing Honors

Four OC alumni received nine awards from the Oklahoma City chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

OC had two alumni win for their public relations work: Murray Evans (89), assistant athletic director for media relations at Oklahoma Christian, second place for “Press Release Writing;” and Christy (Robinson 96) Watson, Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools, third place for “Press Release Writing.”

OC’s winners for newspapers with circulations of 25,000 or more) were: Evans, formerly of the Associated Press, second place for “Education Reporting” and third for “Science, Technology, Health and Environmental Reporting;” Steve Lackmeyer (90) from the Oklahoman, first and third place for “Business Reporting” and first for “Personal Column;” and Bobby Ross (90) from the Christian Chronicle, first place for “Editorial/ Commentary” and third for “General News Reporting.”

Ross also won first place for news story and first place for feature writing in the Associated Church Press “Best of the Christian Press” contest and was a finalist for the Religion Newswriters Association’s Magazine Reporter of the Year award.

Fall 2012

View more stories from the Fall 2012 issue of Vision magazine.