6 Standouts Join Athletic Hall of Fame

OC’s Athletic Hall of Fame membership grew to 53 with the induction of Luke Anderson (01, men’s track and field), Matt Clark (06, men’s soccer), David Lynn (95, men’s golf), Rhein Gibson (08, men’s golf), Amy Vanderpool Sievert (01, softball), and Eric Wiens (96, men’s basketball/track. and field) in January. 

“These inductees are part of OC’s success story in athletics and we are proud to call them Eagles,” OC athletic director Curtis Janz (86) said. “We are proud that each of them chose OC and grateful for the honor that they brought to the university through their accomplishments on the field and in the classroom.” 

Anderson was a four-time NAIA All-American, two-time NAIA Scholar-Athlete, and two-time first-team CoSIDA Academic All-America selection. He placed fifth nationally in the 55-meter hurdles and 110-meter hurdles as a senior. He earned the NAIA’s A.O. Duer Award and Leroy Walker Sportsmanship Award, the Citizenship Through Sports Alliance National Award, and the Woody Hayes National Scholar-Athlete Award. 

Clark was the only four-time All-America selection in OC men’s soccer history, earning honorable mention in 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006. He holds school records for goals in a season (23) and career (71) and for points in a career (162). He was the SAC’s most valuable player and offensive player of the year in 2004. 

Gibson was a four-time NAIA All-America first-team selection (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008), a three-time NAIA Scholar-Athlete and a three-time NAIA All-Tournament pick (2005, 2006, 2008). He helped OC to two runner-up finishes and two third-place team showings at the NAIA Championships. After his OC career, he’s won the Oklahoma state amateur title and multiple professional tournaments. He shot a world-record 55 in May 2012. 

Lynn guided the Eagles to the NAIA national championship in 2011 and the NCCAA crown in 2012. He has been OC’s coach through most of a 14-year streak of placing in the top four at nationals. He is a six-time conference coach of the year and two-time national coach of the year. Lynn’s teams and players have won 47 tournaments and 46 individual titles, earned 20 combined All-America honors and nine Scholar-Athlete honors. He was a four-year track and field letterman at OC, earning NAIA Scholar-Athlete honors in 1995. 

Vanderpool Sievert was a three-time NAIA All-America pick, a four-time NAIA All-Region selection, and a two-time All-SAC first-teamer. She holds single-season school records for batting average (.470), stolen bases (31) and singles (84), as well as the OC career mark for singles (284). She ranks second in OC history with a .403 career batting average. 

Wiens was an NAIA All-America selection in both basketball and track and field. In basketball, he was an All-America second-team pick and conference defensive player of the year in 1995. He was a three-time all-conference honoree. In track and field, he earned All-America honors in the high jump and pentathlon in 1996, finishing fifth at Outdoor Nationals in both events. He is OC’s indoor school record holder in the pentathlon. 

Summer 2014

View more stories from the Summer 2014 issue of Vision magazine.