Kathleen Norris - 2005

Listen to the 2005 McBride Lecture

Kathleen Norris, best-selling author, delivered the inagural 2005 McBride Lecture for Faith and Literature.

Among Norris’s works are The New York Times bestsellers The Cloister Walk, Dakota: A Spiritual Geography, Amazing Grace, A Vocabulary of Faith, and The Virgin of Bennington. She has also published seven books of poetry.

The McBride Center for Faith and Literature was established in 2004 to honor Dr. Bailey B. McBride and his wife, Joyce, for their many years of service to Oklahoma Christian University. In addition to bringing noted authors and speakers to the campus, the McBride Center’s goals are to offer scholarships, sponsor symposia and support the strengthening of faith and enjoyment of literature on the OC campus.

According to The San Francisco Sunday Examiner & Chronicle, Norris is “One of the most eloquent yet earthbound spiritual writers of our time.” The New York Times Book Review said, “Norris … is one of history’s writing pilgrims but also a contemporary American one, boldly willing to forsake any number of cultural fads, trends and preoccupations in favor … [of a] searching expedition within herself…”

Click here to read more.

Click here to view McBride Center photo gallery.

The McBride Center - Box 11000 - Oklahoma City, OK - 73136

©2009 Oklahoma Christian University | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

Oklahoma City Community Foundation World Literature Today Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation

Inasmuch Foundation Writing Out Loud Best of Books Oklahoma Scholar-Leadership Enrichment Program Oklahoma Humanities Council MidFirst Bank Kirkpatrick Foundation Conference on Christianity and Literature